National Reporters Have Been Bashed, Now Locals For Reminding People To Stay Sound On the Saints

Posted: September 1, 2009 in Saints PRE 2009
Tags: , , ,

People adore being ultimately dissappointed. I’m not, in any way, saying they will be in 2009, but to want to open yourself to the vunerability of high hopes being dashed so much that you can criticise cautious optimistic comments made by even your local reporters and one of your very own linebackers really demonstrates a love for the let down.

It’s like telling Jonathan Vilma, who said, “Calm down, everyone, calm down, it’s a long season and right now we’re just scratching the tip of the iceberg,” Don’t tell me not to get excited about the team you’re playing on and know everything about.

Jonathan Vilma was quoted saying this in an article written by Mike Triplett of the Times Picayune which was basically about the fact that a 45-7 outstanding performance against the Raiders on Saturday didn’t hold much water for the 2009 Saints and how the team would fare. No joke. It doesn’t take an NFL analyist to tell you that the Oakland Raiders are like pee-wee football and even more so in the pre-season with half their starters on the bench. Then again, it may actually take more than an NFL analyist to convince some of the locals of this, as they have also criticised the experts for their sound professional analysis that did not always coincide with the FAITH. If you want to have faith, go to church. If you’re tired of the facts, take a nap. I don’t know; everybody say the rosary 15 times and take one big collective nap. Maybe that’s what we need here.

Again, I don’t mean to be negative as I too have taken notice to the drastically improved aggressivness on defense and the always top notch offense. It’s a beatiful thing that I have not really ever seen out of the Saints. I would agree on the fact that this is one of the most promising displays of performance I’ve ever seen out of them and for the first time, the Saints leave me with little negativity to throw their way. I can’t say, however, that any of this even comes close to holding any water when it comes to the regular season. While I DO hope it does, I have to see it when the games count.

PS: People, the text in bold, italics, and underlined: this is where the fanhood lies.

Comments
  1. Gregg Williams sez: “Mojo. Mojo. Mojo. Mojo. Mojo.”

  2. mike says:

    Pretty cool post. I just came by your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon!

Leave a Reply

