Time For Game 2 (Exhibition)

Posted: October 8, 2008 in Hornets

Not that I needed an extra reason to rep the Hornets this year like I did last year, but just for the record, even if I hadn’t been a big time fan of the Bees, I would once again have been given a reason to watch them early on by the Saints. Last year, my main desire in the first couple of months was for a New Orleans team to do well and the Hornets were a team I could depend on. What I didn’t expect was a sick-nasty powerhouse stunningly flashy and beautiful 56 win clinic that would drive us to the second round of the playoffs. That got me on the bandwagon. But even if I wasn’t, I’d be in the same position now that I was in last season; depending on the Hornets to lift me from the depths of the hell hole.

The arena just feels like a winning place, too. Sometimes I walk in the dome, just walk in, and it pisses me off. The arena’s brighter and something about it says WIN.

Anyway, since I can actually be excited about the Hornets, for the Hornets themselves this time, let’s break it down.

Tonight’s opponent: Indiana Pacers

The Hornets started preseason off right 1-0, despite a slow and somewhat sloppy game. The Hornets bench did not show much improvement and even newly signed forward James Posey only scored 9 points. The Bees were able to hold off the Warriors 106-103. Remember, Hornets games can be heard on Old School 106.7.

The Hornets are 68-84 all time in preseason contests and 3-8 against the Pacers, yeah, that’s not really important, ….or is it?!?!?!?!

  • David West averaged a team high 29 points and 12 rebounds in two games vs. indiana last year. Including a 35 point, 12 rebound game on March 25th.
  • Chris Paul put up 31 points and dished out 14 assists in his last contest with the Pacers.
  • Tonights game will be played at the Pepsi Coliseum of the Indiana State Fairgrounds, the home of the Pacers during the ABA years from 1967-1974.
  • Byron Scott is 11-11 all time vs. the Pacers while Jim O’ Brien is 7-10 all time vs. the Hornets

Pacers/ Hornets Connections:

  • Morris Peterson was a teammate with two Pacers in Toronto during the 2006-2007 season
  • Peja Stojakovic played for Indiana during the 2005-2006 season. He averaged 19.5 points per and 6.3 rebounds in 40 games with them
  • Byron Scott played two seasons with the Pacers (’93-’95) when he averaged 10.2 points, connected on 36 percent of his 3 point shots (106-277) and shot 46 percent from the field in 147 total games with Indiana

 

Leave a Reply

